2012 Chevrolet Volt

Change Vehicle

2012 Chevrolet Volt

Available in 1 styles:  2012 Chevrolet Volt 4dr Hatchback shown
Print


Kelley Blue Book Retail
$21,000

Est. MPG

95 city / 93 hwy


See Photos & Videos


Average Ratings

Overall

4.8 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

59 out of 61 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 61 reviews

Best Car I've ever owned

by Electric Car Owner from Santa Cruz, CA | November 5, 2013

What I liked!!! 1. It runs 35 to 40 miles on a fully charged battery consistently 2. It has a fantastic pricepoint and value for a 1 year old car 3. There is no car like it on the road today 4. It has a huge range and works for any distance and type of driving 5. The looks are fantastic 6. The ride of the car is firm with a tight turning radius, whisper quite and it is very comfortable 7. It comes with almost every option anyone could want or dream up 8. ON Star is superior 9. The feedback on screen about how your driving style is effecting gas mileage. THE BEST OPTION HANDS DOWN. What I didn't like 1. 4 passengers only legally 2. gas generator runs on premium only 3. The entertainment system is not fully bluetooth compatible. I'm guessing this is because Chevy wants you to subscribe to ON Star. They fixed this in late 2012 I'm told. In summary we have driven this car about 3 weeks for 1500 miles. This car rides great and if you drive in a 30 mile radius around your home you will never need gas in this car. If you need to drive further no problem. I compared it to a Prius for driveability and quality and this car is clearly superior. I have used remote free charging stations which are very plentiful on CA central cost. Pretty exciting since I've never had anyone offer me free gas. It is simple to charge and has lots of idiot proof indicators. A fantastic moving piece of technology. I would buy another and look forward to the new generation batteries which are coming and will extend it's electric range by 4 to 8 times. Soon this will be the norm not the exception.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Nice upgrade

by Voltastic from Loveland, CO | October 17, 2013

Chevy has put us on track for the future of travel. The car drives,looks, and performs great. It takes time to learn the heating, cooling system and entertainment controls. Not for people who like simple. Great experience and sweet ride for old folks as well.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Volt -what a great car to own

by cruise lover from Ft Myers, FL | October 14, 2013

We had a Camaro the last 14 years and 166k miles-a dream car! Bought at good price a 25k mile Volt Premium. We are enjoying nearly zero gas expense and expect great GM performance for the next 10 years! Most trips are 40 miles or less allowing us to use just the electrical power. Cars.com allowed us to view any car within any mileage we chose to drive and decided the value was excellent 900-1200 miles away where more units were available than locally. Thanks to all the dealers who use cars.com! We wanted a certain color and found it! Also mpg is 42+.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Love it...so does my wife!

by 1VoltGuy in Kingston from Kingston. WA | September 3, 2013

We love the Volt. We charge it at home overnight for about $1.50 in electricity and my wife drives it back and forth to work and never uses gas! 106 mpg average lifetime gas mileage with 9000 on the odometer. Comfortable seats, quiet as heck, great looking, and keep driving past the 40 mile electric charge and the generator motor kicks in. There's a great app we use from GM to send Nav directions to the car start it remotely to cool it down, lock the doors if we think we forgot to etc! Love it!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


They built this right!

by Rock Rider from St. Paul, MN | June 2, 2013

This car is like no other built on the road. It handles like my Acura TL - Type S in the turns and has the same get up and get outta here punch. They should have come up with basic concept of this thing a long time ago. I guess it takes time to do the battery research producing an electric car able to operate in Miami or Minneapolis and climb every mountain range in the nation. The result is truly state of the art technology and a reliable car that's there when you need it, whenever and where ever you need it to go from A to B.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Nice car

by Mr. Green from Michigan City, Indiana | May 29, 2013

Very nice car, sport sedan handling, adequate power,interior is gorgeous.The best part is I use no gas on my 40 mile daily commute.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


great overall automobile

by car enthusiast from Orlando,Fl. | March 18, 2013

very well designed automobile combining styling,handling, comfort and fuel efficiency. Certified preowned with only 2800 miles, it drives excellent, incredible quiet and with excellent acceleration and did I mention it's fuel efficiency. I really love it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Loving this car

by Auto shop owner from Pryor, OK | February 22, 2013

Have owned a 2012 Volt for about 2 weeks now. I've driven close to 300 miles total and have used less than 1.5 gallons of gas. I've quit following what's happening w/ gas prices now that I barely use any. The car is whisper quiet when you drive, the features all seem to work well. No complaints right now. I hope future developements will lead to this technology coming into a large vehicle, as I would love to own a large sedan for driving around with the whole family, but for now, this is as good as it gets.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Nice but not perfect

by Ordinary Average Guy from Michigan | January 18, 2013

Ok, I've had this car for 6 months now. I did not buy it, I have it on a 2 year lease. Let's just say it takes some getting used to it. Honestly, in the summer I was getting 44-45 miles per charge. I didn't do any kind of "hypermiling" or anything like that. Now in the winter (which I live in Michigan so it does get cold) I'm getting 28-29 miles per charge. I'm sure if you are reading this, then you probably have researched it so I'm not going to bore you with facts and figures. My biggest complaint is that EVERY one of these cars should have heated seats. Mine, does not so I'm forced to use the climate controls to keep warm in the winter. Outside of that I must say I like the car overall. Since I got it in July I've only put gas in 2 times, which seems great to me. As for as charging it, I charge off hours on a 240V charging station (which was totally paid for thanks to my local utility DTE). My electric bill has gone up 31-37 dollars a month. When this lease is up, unless there is another great deal on a lease I probably won't get on again. I'd like to try a full electric car like the Nissan Leaf or the upcoming Fiat 500E personally. My car is strictly a commuter car/2nd car. We have a Dodge Journey which we use as a "primary" vehicle so mine just has to get me to work and back and the occasional trip to the grocery store.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Not the Panacea

by Southern NE Volt from Massachusetts | January 15, 2013

Here's the real deal on the Volt: These folks here claiming that they average 44 miles+ on a charge? No way. Maybe in Southern California. Maybe on the hottest humidity-free summer days. In real life, in New england. Plan on low thirties in the summer and 23-27 miles per charge in the winter. That's right 23. When the temperature drops below 35F, my "fully charged" volt will display an electric range of 25-26 miles, but actual highway driving at or very close to 65MPH, will yield only 23-24 miles of range before I switch to gas. Oh -- and one other thing no other reviewers have commented on -- the gas drive is LOUD. One other note, the front ground effects are so low that my volt frequently "bottoms out." Hey -- I like the car -- but there seems to be a lot of rose-colored glasses-wearing drivers out there. 44 miles of range -- ppshaw! I've never seen it!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 61 reviews

People Who Viewed this Car Also Viewed

Select up to three models to compare with the 2012 Chevrolet Volt.


Featured Services for this Chevrolet Volt

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.

Home | Buy or Sell a Truck | News | Special Reports

A member of the Cars.com family. By using this site, you agree to our terms of service | © 2014 Cars.com | Privacy Statement | Contact Us

Visit our partner: MovingTruck.com