2000 Dodge Dakota

Change Vehicle
2000 Dodge Dakota
Available in 16 styles:  2000 Dodge Dakota 4x2 Regular Cab 112" WB shown
Asking Price Range
$1,898–$9,170
Estimated MPG

15–20 city / 19–24 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.4 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

22 out of 25 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 25 reviews

Jerrys Truck

by Jerry from Pheonix AZ | March 28, 2014

I had A great experience buying this truck. I recommend to anyone that VIP Auto Sales in Tempe AZ is a good place to buy a Vehicle

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Nice Truck

by One More Time from NY | January 16, 2013

2000 Dodge Dakota Sport Ext Cab 4x4 3.9L. Do yourself a favor and buy the car privately. Payed half the price the dealers wanted, no hassle one owner service records, no accidents. Use Clist or another avenue. The truck is great size. The ext cab for short distances if fine for kids, not so much for adults. 6.5' bed, that extra foot makes a difference. Ride is more car like then truck and is fantastic in the snow or climbing rough terrain with 4x4. Looks are second to none. and really the only midsize pickup in the 1997-2002 year range. Things to watch out for is rusty brake lines, intemediate steering shaft, and generally bad rust. This truck just purchased 12/12 137k has almost no rust.None on the body. Lastly the 3.9l is a little underpowered, but if you can find one with the lsd and 3.92 like this truck you can tow just about anything..Just a little slower all around daily driving and towing. Not a show stopper.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


street legal race truck

by dakarri from | November 24, 2012

4.7l, manual 4wd xtra cab. nissan,ford, toyota, have nothing for this beast!! thank you dodge- AAAA+

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Great compact truck with the power and speedINeed

by Small trucks, big power!! from Virginia | April 16, 2012

Great truck, nice lines and the interior is very stylish.. My dakota is an RT with the 5.9 Litre V8 Magnum engine. It gets great reviews and I haven't had any problems but the L Front caliper seized up because it wasn't driven daily..I put a lowered, in bed truck tool box and drive it everyday for work.. Awesome, and beautiful. I have got nothing but good compliments... Gas milage sucks but the handling and looks and sound and power make up for it.... Enjoy your new Dodge Dakota!!! - A from Virginia...

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


So Much Fun

by Average Joe from | July 7, 2011

I own a 2000 Dakota R/T,I love the truck and it is so much fun to drive and great at car shows because you see so few of these. Great truck if you can find one. Remember Mopar or no car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Most Reliable Truck Ever

by AXL from Wisconsin | April 29, 2011

I bought my 2000 Sport Quad Dakota with 4.7L with 25k miles on it. It now has 215,000 miles on it and it has never left me stranded. I've never had any issues with it other than a sensor had to be replaced once. I've even use it to pull our 28ft travel trailer on long trips and it performs like a champ with the transmission always operating flawlessly. I can't say enough about this truck.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


decent work truck

by truckin from Harrisonburg VA | April 1, 2011

I typically use my Dakota pick for yard work. It seems to do well with it 4X4 option in snow and mud. It does not have the power that today's pickup truck offer but it definitely gets the job done.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


Good Pick-up for the money

by Dakota Boy from Reading, pa | November 30, 2010

I got my 2000 dakota in the spring of 2010. The only problem i had on this 90000 mile truck is that the guage cluster went, besides that it is a good truck with plenty of power for my specific needs

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


First truck- best truck!

by dodge gurl from stillwater, nj | August 2, 2010

I owned a 1996 Saturn Sedan SL1 before I bought this truck, and the transmission was going, so I was looking into trucks like what my dad had. We browsed 1500s and 2500s, and none seemed to fit me as well as I liked. Dad sid I should try a Dakota, but I wanted a bigger truck. I came about my Dakota at a used car dealer one day while I was working, and I sety up a test drive. Thi minute I got in I found it to be super comfortable with it's bucket seats. The center console folds up to become a bench seat, and both the front and back seats have cup holders. The back seats fold back so the back area becomes a cargo area, and the 5ft bed is a plus! I am now the proud owner of a 2000 Dodge Dakota 4x4 with a V8 5.9 liter engine, and I think I'm going to stick with this model as a favorite! This truck is perfect size for any beginner truck owner, and I wouldn't trade it for anythihng!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Good basic mid-sized truck

by Wakin from Tucson, AZ | April 1, 2010

Never, never left me on the side of the road in ten years of ownership. Gas mileage so-so. The Club Cab design became less functional as my kids got bigger, but the 4 door Crew Cab was not introduced until the following year. But again, this truck ran like a top for me for basic transportation and light duty homeowner hauling.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 25 reviews

Featured Services for this Dodge Dakota

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.

Home | Buy or Sell a Truck | News | Special Reports

A member of the Cars.com family. By using this site, you agree to our terms of service | © 2014 Cars.com | Privacy Statement | Contact Us

Visit our partner: MovingTruck.com