2012 Ford Fusion

Change Vehicle

2012 Ford Fusion

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 6 styles:  2012 Ford Fusion 4dr FWD Sedan shown
Print


Asking Price Range
$12,432–$21,800

Estimated MPG

17–23 city / 25–33 hwy


See Photos & Videos


Average Ratings

Overall

4.5 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

53 out of 59 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 59 reviews

Most Reliable Car that I've Owend So Far

by LiLi from Lanham, MD | July 9, 2014

When i went to purschase this car the professional help that i received was excellent and would go there to purchase another car. The saleman that waited on me was so prolite and curtious and the managers were also excellent good place to do bussiness. My saleman name was Adrian Chavez.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


2012 Fusion SEL Very Nice

by Druche from Malden, MA | July 7, 2014

In May 2014, I bought a 2012 Fusion SEL with 25K miles. It has 2.5L - 4 cylinder with auto transmission. Moonroof, Navigation, Blind Side sensors, back-up camera, Auto sensing wipers are the main options. 2 months in and everything is great. In a mixture of 70% highway-30% city, I am getting ~ 27 to 28 MPG. Went away for the weekend where I put all highway miles and I got 34.5 MPG. Very happy with the performance. Getting up to 60 MPH from a standing start was reasonably quick. The engine could use a little more punch when trying to pass from 40 MPH, but it is fine nether the less. My guess the 2.0L turbo in the new model upgrade (2013+) would solve that problem. The Blind Side Sensors and back up camera are two options I think I will always look for. Parking is easy with the camera and the Blind Side Sensors keep me from being surprised from the side. The leather seating is very comfortable and the variable color mood interior lights is a cool gimmick. I chose the 2012 model thinking i would get more bang for the buck and I was right. I am very happy with the above options as well as the My Sync radio. There are numerous verbal commands to perform a Bluetooth call, or adjust temperature or selecting destination on the Navigation. The Bluetooth paired up well with my cell phone for playing music or an audiobook. The sound system is fantastic and when listening to HD radio, is as perfect as it gets. Ford got this right and I would have to expect even better things with the newer design.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Most Exciting Car I've Owned

by Stu from Temple Hills, MD | June 7, 2014

The Ford Focus has great pricing, nice interior, spaceous trunk, great on gas and exciting to drive!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Expect big repair bills, buy something else

by Buck from Toluca | May 27, 2014

Bought the car used out of need. Reviews were generally positive so we were comfortable with the purchase. Being a small car, the marginal ride quality was to be expected but the seats are not comfortable on a trip over 1 hr. The brakes squeak on a regular basis, especially in the morning. The transmission shifts are hard and unpredictable. Here is the kicker - the electronic power steering failed after 2 years on the road with only 62000 miles. Even if it was prior to 60000 miles, ford will not cover it because it is not a 'powertrain' problem. The genious engineers at ford also created the entire rack and power steering assembly as 1 unit so it all has to be replaced as an one unit. After replacing the ford only part (can't be purchased aftermarket) the ford dealer has to 'program' it before it will work. Also on the list of procedures for this is a front alignmet of course. Expect your friendly ford dealer to hand you a 2000 repair bill (not including towing) Ford only guarntees the repair for 2 years, so guess what? That's right, make sure you budget 1000 per year just to keep this rolling stink blossom between the lines. If you search this issue you will find lots of the focus hybrids with this problem, ours is not a hybrid. The customer service people at ford are of no help either although one dealer offered to 'give' a 200 discount on the repair. If you still think you want to buy a fusion, please come buy mine. It will be on a tow truck in front of the local ford dealers with a big flashing sign proclaiming what a fine product it is. It will be there every saturday until some lucky soul decides to make it their own or I decide to start selling sledge hammer smashes for 5.00 each.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car


Battery

by sidkik from MORRISTOWN, NJ | May 5, 2014

I bought my ford fusion 2012 cause it's suppose to be reliable vehicle, after 2 years the battery went, never had I have to change a battery on any of my used cars before. I thought if I bought a new car I wouldn't have to worry about it braking down or putting any money into it anytime soon. Boy was I wrong.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does not recommend this car


Great everyday car.

by MyNismo from Virginia | March 28, 2014

I bought my 2012 Ford Fusion brand new as a late model and needed it due to a new job I started. I've had the car for over a year and it drives very well for a mid size sedan. The 4cyl engine has adequate power and has amazing fuel economy, I'm averaging 28 mpg in my commute which is mostly highway driving either going quite fast or in stop and go traffic. The car absorbs all but the worst bumps on the road and the braking is top notch. The handling of the car is very good for it's size and the steering is very light, but is amazingly responsive. I've only had one issue since I've had the car and that is with the transmission. The Trans had to be flashed at my first service and otherwise it works well, but when it's cold, it will shift quite hard until the car is warmed up. The interior is actually nice and the steering mounted controls is a life saver for navigating most functions. Lastly, I feel that the USB port for Sync may have just blown on me, but it should be under warranty. I'll have it looked at during my next service.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Great car

by Rickv from Florida | March 10, 2014

Bought my 2012 SE model new with the I4 6 speed automatic in June 2012. Needed better gas mileage than my full size truck. I have been very happy with the car. Gets 25 mpg around town and 32-33 mpg hwy. After owning it for about a year went up north to visit my mother who had leased a competitors car. Sticker price for hers was higher, car didn't not ride quite as well and did not get quite the same mileage as the Fusion. I will buy another one.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Cruisin' in my Fusion

by LunaMarie from Naples, FL | March 8, 2014

Bought my Fusion used with 12k miles on her. It's an SEL and has many perks. I love the ambient lighting. Just too cool. It's a very smooth ride. Mine is 4 cyl but the get up and go is great. Gas mileage has been great also but a lot of that depends on which brand of gas I use. I'd recommend the Fusion to men and women of any age as there are lots of specifics that would appeal to any age in my opinion.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Great Car for the Price

by Suzi from Columbia, MD | February 7, 2014

I've had my 2012 Ford Fusion SE for about a month now: 6 cylinder, 3.0 L - 6 speed automatic with select shift. It has a lot of power and the ride is very smooth. It has a very sleek look with the chrome front. The interior is also very nice, and the controls are very user-friendly. I would definitely recommend this vehicle to anyone looking for a good, comfortable mid-size sedan that won't "break the bank!"

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


2012 Fusion SEL V6

by kittycatinkc from Kansas City, MO | February 5, 2014

I like this car most of the time but get some substantial snow 3 or 4 " and I can barely get up my street. The traction control kicks and keeps the car from fish tailing but that doesn't help me go forward! I bought the car in April of 2013 and soon after we had a surprise May blizzard. The car seemed to handle okay then with 2" of snow but not so much now. I went form a 2003 Ford Explorer 4x4 XLT to the Fusion. I should have spent the money to have the transmission fixed in the Explorer than worry about being stranded in the snow in a Fusion. My daughter's little Kia optima does better in the snow than the Fusion with traction control.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 59 reviews

People Who Viewed this Car Also Viewed

Select up to three models to compare with the 2012 Ford Fusion.


Featured Services for this Ford Fusion

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.

Home | Buy or Sell a Truck | News | Special Reports

A member of the Cars.com family. By using this site, you agree to our terms of service | © 2014 Cars.com | Privacy Statement | Contact Us

Visit our partner: MovingTruck.com