2008 Ford Taurus

Change Vehicle

2008 Ford Taurus

Available in 4 styles:  2008 Ford Taurus 4dr AWD shown
Print


Asking Price Range
$6,439–$14,639

Estimated MPG

17–18 city / 24–28 hwy


See Photos & Videos


Average Ratings

Overall

4.8 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

27 out of 28 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 28 reviews

THIS IS THE BEST TAURUS YET SERIOUS!

by Big Poppa from Radcliff. Kentucky | September 27, 2013

Prior before purchasing this Taurus for my wife back in 2009. I did a lot of research and studying of all makes and models of today's car. And my decision came down to the 2008 Taurus because of all the safety and the bells and whistles included. One of the biggest and worthy feature I like is the door-lock keypad on the driver's door. This is something you can expect on more expensive vehicles. Other than the fact it has the best field of view of any car on the road today. Our maintenance records have been very low due to good driving habits and servicing a well built car. When it comes to any vehicle on the road based on style, dependability, economic value, and longevity. This would be the car I would bet on the safety and pleasure for my Wife. The 2008 Ford Taurus is a highly recommendable car with two thumbs up! Overall, it has been four years now and we plan on keeping our Taurus for a very long time.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


best car i have ever had

by renoruona from Reno Nevada | March 16, 2013

I really like my 2008 ford taurus runs great and good power and style. It gets low twentys miles per gallon. But a sturdy and great car to get around. It runs great especially in Mts.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Fifth review of car.

by Berkshire report #5. from Michigan | May 14, 2012

The car has 98,100 miles on the odometer. Fuel economy from January 1, 2012 through April 30, 2012 was 25.7 mpg (10,755 miles and 419 gallons gasoline). Driving mode was 70% highway and 30% city. The car continues to provide a comfortable ride, good handling and good reliability. Major maintenance items: tires replaced at 43,000 miles, rear brakes replaced at 45,000 miles, fuel injectors cleaned at 72,000 miles and spark plugs replaced at 90,000 miles. The front brakes have not needed replacement. Major repairs were: engine water pump replaced twice, at 25,000 miles and 61,000 miles.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


So far so good

by warboz from Montclair NJ | February 14, 2012

So far so good.Ive only had the car for less than 2 months but overall very happy with my car.Roomy.Great pick up when needed.Very Sporty looking car.Great Value.I paid what I thought was an exellent price from a private owner plus another 3,000 in other expenses.Only downside is it does eat up a lot of gas and the heated seat on the passenger side does not work.Bottom line if you handle the gas expense I wouldn't hesitate own a Ford Taurus.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


Great car

by jarhead from NC | January 26, 2012

I bought this car in the Limited trim with 55,000 miles on it. We now have 86,000 on it. She runs like a champ. Plenty of power and handles great. The interior room is awesome. The back seats have unbelievable head and leg room. The trunk is large enough to pack a families worth of stuff for a week and half and still have room. The traction control is great. Almost no road noise. The interior is very quite. The Microsoft Sync and the sound system are great options that I really enjoy. I would like to see a bit better fuel mileage out of it. It should get better than a combined 23 mpg, but it is a big car. The only draw back is on the Limited model the 18 inch tires are more expensive than the 17 inch tires that are on the SEL. If you want to purchase one, make sure the car doesn't have the stock Pirelli P6 tires. A lot of dealers will put these tires back on because they are cheap and they are the tires that some of the Limited's came with from the factory.They make the car seem like an over priced boat. Once I replaced the Pirelli's with Hankook Optima's the car is a totaly different beast. The tires truly make the car something you want to keep.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


A lot of car for the money

by bargain hunter from East Tennessee | January 23, 2012

I've owned the 98 Taurus for 4 months and put 3000 miles on it and am very pleased. We just took a 1400 mile trip and it averaged 27 mpg overall which surprised me for a car that big. After driving 625 miles to the beach, I wasn't tired at all. I am very pleased overall with the car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Great ride

by JeffC from Ma | November 5, 2011

Bought used owned several ford Taurus models before 93sho, 99se and now this beauty not as fast as a Sho but awd makes up for that!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


One of Ford's Best Cars on the Road

by Reggie from | June 24, 2011

It has been two years since I have own this vehicle. I would like to inform anybody whom may be reading this review is getting true information about this vehicle. This car is worth more for the money. It is the idea car for the individual or family members. The new design of today's cars have very limited field of view driving in heavy traffic conditions. This particular Ford model car has a great view in all direction. From all the safety features to the value of this car. Believe all the good reviews you read from these owners because they are telling the truth. Hands down this is a very good car!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Love this car!

by Lazzydog from Levittown N.Y. | May 18, 2011

Two years in, and still love my Touras SEL. Rides like a dreem, handles great, great in snow. And gets 25 to 27 MPG on the highway. Thats 400 miles on a tank, at 70 and 80 MPH. Around town 15 to 17 MPG. Ford has a winner in these big beautyfull cars.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Great on Highways

by Mohammed from Bozeman, MT | April 27, 2011

With its upsized V-6 engine (the 3.5-liter Duratec gets 263 horsepower, up from last year's 203), the Taurus moves smartly from stoplights and pulls confidently onto the freeway. Passing others requires just a modest step on the gas, and at 75 mph the car feels like it still has plenty of oomph left. The extra power doesn't turn the Taurus into a lean machine, mind you — my all-wheel-drive test car, which weighed in at nearly two tons, felt hefty at all times. It moves quickly when needed, though, something the Five Hundred never did. Stick with front-wheel drive, and you shave off 189 pounds (about 5 percent of the car's total weight), which is likely to create a payoff in sprightlier acceleration. Most of the time, the transmission minds its business without creating too much drama. Occasionally it goes beyond the call of duty, finding the right gear in a pinch and sticking with it for strong acceleration down a straightaway. Other times it comes up short — prod the gas pedal from a stoplight, and the gear changes are jerky and awfully late. Using the EPA's stricter 2008 standards, gas mileage is rated at 17/24 mpg with all-wheel drive.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 28 reviews

People Who Viewed this Car Also Viewed

Select up to three models to compare with the 2008 Ford Taurus.


Featured Services for this Ford Taurus

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.

Home | Buy or Sell a Truck | News | Special Reports

A member of the Cars.com family. By using this site, you agree to our terms of service | © 2014 Cars.com | Privacy Statement | Contact Us

Visit our partner: MovingTruck.com