2001 Lexus IS 300

Change Vehicle

2001 Lexus IS 300

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 1 styles:  2001 Lexus IS 300 4dr Sedan shown
Print


Asking Price Range
$3,583–$10,695

Estimated MPG

18 city / 23 hwy


See Photos & Videos


Average Ratings

Overall

4.7 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

19 out of 19 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 19 reviews

Fun to drive.

by Djrod from Fleetwood, PA | February 19, 2013

I love this car to be over 10 years old still runs like new. Never had a lexus and I am enjoing it. This cars has been my dream car since it came out in 2001. And now I finally have it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Great car and great service!

by Austin Dad from Austin, TX | February 21, 2012

My wife, who takes weeks to make even the smaller decisions, fell in love with this car as soon as she saw it and we bought it the next day. It has served us well, and after 11 years we're looking to move into something bigger. I love driving it as well, because it's sporty and so small that you can fit in pretty much any parking spot. Perhaps the best part of driving a Lexus is the service we get at our local dealership. It costs about the same as the independent service chains, but we get a loaner, get the car detailed, and they have a stellar waiting room. Plus the service people are great. You can tell they enjoy their jobs, which bodes well for the service they're doing on your vehicle as well. Looking forward to owning another Lexus!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Arguably the best Lexus ever!

by JPB from Rogers, AR | October 20, 2011

I did tons of research before purchasing this car. It was compared to Acuras, Hondas, Fords, Mazdas, Volvos, etc. I did not find another vehicle that offers reliability, performance, exterior and interior styling that surpasses the Lexus IS. I have to say after owning this car for a few months that it still impresses me every day. My only complaint is the somewhat poor gas mileage combined with required premium fuel. However, I would much rather spend a little extra on fuel and have a car that I enjoy to drive!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


IS 300

by Lexus IS415 from SF | October 18, 2011

Great car, considering it was made by Toyota gives extra comfort knowing you can always get toyota parts and service. The interior is great, not too keen on the wear of the seats. Exterior has great styling, but i wish my taillights and headlights came with the black housing. Easy handling and safe car! Thanks toyota for providing the IS with a 2JZ, infamously known in the Toyota Supra minus the turbo =(

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


cool ride

by swat from chi, IL | March 22, 2011

Not to slow of a car, has some pick up, comfy, reliable. but down side takes up to much gas, so if gas prices is high and you drive a lot, don't get this car unless your willing to pay at the pump

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


My college comuter

by College Comuter from CO | March 6, 2011

Bought an is 300 before starting my 3rd year of college, which is a bit of a drive from my house. Since I got it I've averaged around 80 miles a day in driving, and its great. The seating is very comfortable even on long trips, if you treat the car right (and probably even if you don't) it will get you there every time. The engine has plenty of power and torque with a well geared transmission for a pretty smooth and fun ride. I have averaged around 24mpgs which is okay for the class.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Best sports sedan manufactured

by Rominu7 from Springfield, Mo | December 3, 2010

Driving a Lexus IS300 is just amazing. From the steering to the performance the IS300 will exceed your expectations. It's Inline 6 engine is very responsive and the brakes are very quick to respond to any emergency. The looks still grabs peoples attention even after all these years. I love this car and would recommend it to anyone.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Sickest Lexus ever!

by Adek300 from Chicago, IL | July 31, 2010

This car is the best at everything that I can ever imagine. Test drove 3 models and was very pleased with everything. 2JZ-GE engine is the best feeling in this car. It's a four door Toyota Supra from 95 with no turbo. 215HP feels amazing. Better than E46 BMW 330i! Paddle shifters give more fun and when you press the PWR button the fun gets even more better! I recommend this car to any young driver that has a passion for cars!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


BeST CaR EveR !!! Smooth, FasT

by KaKa JaTT from Cupertino,CA | February 21, 2010

i own a 2001 Supercharged lexus is300 with 65000 miles on it.one of the best cars i ever owned. i own '05 Mitsubishi Evo and '09 Lexus is350. This car got the looks !!! i get compliments all the time. The original blue mica color shines like sun.noisy on freeways but quiet on city. 15mpg not bad for supercharged lexus.i just love it .i would recommend anyone reading these reviews just go buy one and enjoy it!!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Very fun to drive

by shah from minnesota | February 7, 2010

I've just bought my 2001 is300 for 4700bucks (price is low due to high high mileage). Even though the high miles, the car drives like new. Very quiet inside, very agile and responsive. provide very solid feeling when driven. I own toyota supra mk3 turbo. The lexus is not as fast as the supra, but its agility makes me prefer to drive the lexus. very very fun to drive

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 19 reviews

Featured Services for this Lexus IS 300

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.

Home | Buy or Sell a Truck | News | Special Reports

A member of the Cars.com family. By using this site, you agree to our terms of service | © 2014 Cars.com | Privacy Statement | Contact Us

Visit our partner: MovingTruck.com