2009 Mazda Mazda6

Change Vehicle
2009 Mazda Mazda6
Available in 7 styles:  2009 Mazda Mazda6 4dr Sedan shown
Asking Price Range
$7,031–$16,127
Estimated MPG

17–20 city / 25–29 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.8 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

34 out of 36 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 36 reviews

Fun car to drive and realiable

by Mazda6 Lover from Chicago suburbs | August 26, 2014

I purchased my 2009 Mazda 6 Grand Touring S used 3 years ago and I absolutely love it. It's sporty,classy & a luxury vehicle all in one. I really should get an all wheel drive vehicle that can handle the Chicago snow/ice better but, I just can't bare to part with this car that I love sooooo much. So,instead, I'm buying new wheels and snow tires for the winter. It will probably be abit of a rough ride but, I don't care!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Best in class with V6 and grand tourning options

by Mav10 from Green Bay, WI | May 19, 2014

I just bought a used 2009 Grand Touring model with the V6 and all options with 77K. What a steal. The car exterior and interior design is so much more sexy and modern that any competitor in the class. A camry really? zzzzzz...I see these all over the road and they are ugly and way too common. I specifically wanted the V6 with 272 Horsepower, Bose, sunroof, heated seats blind spot monitoring, navigation, dual exhaust, spoiler, LED tail lights. The list goes on and on. I drove the 4 cylinder that does get much better gas mileage, yet I enjoy the driving experience and the Grand Touring V6 was so much more fun to drive and the exhaust tune was perfect.. If you want awesome gas mileage and dont care about the driving experience buy a Saturn. Im Very happy with my purchase and if this was baged as a Lexus or BMW people would take much more notice. I love my sleeper Mazda 6. People need to take this model seriously.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Like the car but it is not holding up well....

by Mazda6 Owner KY from Louisville, IKY | December 24, 2013

I purchased this car new in 2009 - 4 cylinder, i-touring. I have been quite happy with it - style, performance, driving fun. I drive 100 easy highway miles per day as a commuter. However, as the card passed 3 years and 80k miles it has been having various quality problems - no, not just wear and tear. Overhead sunglass plastic broke and fell in my lap. Headliner has a rattling noise. This car eats headlight bulbs and they are not easy to change. The keyless entry is hit and miss. WORST of all, the car through a Check Engine Light for the catalytic converter at 80K miles. Apparently very common - you need to spend approx. $1,000 to replace the single cat around 80k. I never owned a car where cats were treated like wear items - eg spark plugs. I wanted to like the car and I guess the transmission and engine are holding up well. Though, I never had so many quality issues with the various Honda's I have owned. Wife's 2006 Odyssey van with 138k is still flawless. 2009 Mazda 112k is a check engine light, squeeky overhead,, light bulb eating car with less then great gas mileage. For me, Mazda was leap of faith. I think I'll be wandering back to Honda during my next purchase when this one wears out. The 2014 Mazda 6 looks pretty but I am going to steer clear based on my 2009 experience.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car


Mazda 6 review happy with my car

by BC from Plum, PA | September 4, 2013

The mazda 6 I purchased is a very reliable and stylish car. First off the online posting was in correct as it was listed as a 6 speed manual, ended up being a 5 speed automatic. I love the car and all it's aspects, although the 2.5L 4cycl is lacking in some power I am still happy with my the dealership experience and my purchase for the cost.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Well balanced w/ options, good price

by Bill from Franklin, TN | July 11, 2012

I have driven the Mazda 6, Camry, Altima, and Charger (3.5L). I chose the Mazda 6 (3.7L) for several reasons. Very good power, nice. Options, fun to drive (tight steering, responsive in curves, balanced braking, and generous seating room. My personal experience was Dodge Charger was under powered (3.5L), Altima research showed less reliability especially with transmissions, and Camry seemed so common looking. Just my viewpoint. Good lhunting!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Afordable fun

by Love to drive from Boston, MA | May 28, 2012

This car is an enjoyable experience. Great features that perform well. The styling of the interior and exterior are in tune with the car's sporty nature.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Great Experience!

by Roha from Washington DC. | May 7, 2012

I have owned this car for a while, previously owned a Toyota Camry 2008 for two years, and Hyundai Veracruz for one year, I highly recommend this car. The model I have I Grand Touring + Tech Package, with many features competing much more expensive cars. maintenance schedule is every 7500 miles. so drive without worry. I you dont care about gas prices go with 6 cyl for the ultimate joy of driving in economy family sedan. Much more fun to drive and responsive than Camry.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


I've been thoroughly amazed

by Amazed Mazda owner from Pueblo, co | April 9, 2012

I bought my 2009 Mazda6 two months ago and could not be pleased more. The performance of the car is outstanding, has plenty of pick up and go and I'm used to v8 power. The styling is classy and sporty I get compliments all the time when out and about. The leg room in the front and back is surprisingly spacious (I'm 6ft 1) and is comfortable on long trips. The only complaint I have is wind noise, the drivers door has a quite annoying wind noise and the sunroof is havin the same issue, quite annoying. I have an appointment soon to hopefully remedy this only issue I've had.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Camry? Altima? Accord? Why!!

by Tom from Queens new york | February 29, 2012

After graduating Optometry school and my 95' BMW 318i carrying me through all the years, I finally decided to get something newer. I searched and searched and finally found a used preowned 2009 Mazda6 Grand Touring S, fully loaded with every available option offered. Its Frost white with black leather interior, HID's, blind spot detection, self leveling headlights, LED tail lights, rear spoiler, sunroof, heated seats, BOSE sound system, Navigation with Bluetooth, literlly every option from the factory this car has. What's more impressive is the 272hp produced from the V6, it's extremely fast and under hard acceleration it really picks up power. My friend who just bout a 2012 altima V6 wishes he had taken a little more time to do research since he absolutely loves mine. This is my first Mazda and from the reviews and my own personal personal experience with this car, I can't see why people would buy anything else. As a 28 year old entering the professional years of my life, I couldnt have chose a better vehicle. Also, I purchased the car for 15,550 with 36k.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Fun to drive and a great value!

by Cruzdreamer from Algonquin, IL | December 13, 2011

This is my 4th Mazda(Protege 5 wagon, RX 8, CX7 and now 6). Loved them all! Mazda is always my top choice in cars $25,000 and under. The Mazda 6 GT handling is superb and it really grips the road(no body roll). The interior is very well done...very comfortable seats(I have leather), sporty and a big notch above all plain interiors out there! No comparison. I had an HHR before I got my 4th Mazda because I had financial issues and I have to tell you...Mazda is a dream in comparison. HHR was cheap in and out, seats were rough(fabric), handling was poor, lots of things went wrong...worst car I have had actually! I have the 4 cyclinder and though it could use a little more horsepower from the red line, there is plenty there to have fun and passing cars is a blast. I drove a 6 cycl. which had tons of power but I am female and I was more concerned with gas mileage, not speed. After pricing other cars this was the best value out there! Lots of extras too...adjustable headlamps, blind spot monitoring, rain sensing wipers etc. The trunk is huge and cabin is very spacious! I had to have the GT for the dash...it has the blue glow around the orange! I get 25-26 mpg 90% city. Just some FYI, I have the black cherry and added sporty black rims, spoiler, LED lights under headlamps, color interior LED's under dash and rear seats lighting, graphic stripe etc....it looks awesome(and turns heads!)! If you have never driven a Mazda...do so before you buy!!! You will love it!! There will be more Mazda's in my future!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 36 reviews

People Who Viewed this Car Also Viewed

Select up to three models to compare with the 2009 Mazda Mazda6.


Featured Services for this Mazda Mazda6

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.

Home | Buy or Sell a Truck | News | Special Reports

A member of the Cars.com family. By using this site, you agree to our terms of service | © 2014 Cars.com | Privacy Statement | Contact Us

Visit our partner: MovingTruck.com