2009 Pontiac G8

Change Vehicle
2009 Pontiac G8

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 3 styles:  2009 Pontiac G8 4dr Sedan shown
Asking Price Range
$10,017–$28,261
Estimated MPG

13–17 city / 20–25 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.8 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

53 out of 54 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 54 reviews

the best of 40 new cars owned

by lil Al from san luis obispo, Ca. | July 9, 2014

all cars are a compromise out of necessity.Purchased new 9/08 at age 66( kind of the last fun car for us) and could not be more pleased with the choice.The gt has been fun, practical,& very reliable.We almost let motor trend convince me not to purchase it.(09 car of the year comparison)questioning the cars reliability.Loved my 70 boss 302, but no a/c or power steering, driving a competition clutch in los angeles stop & go every few feet became intolerable.Cadillac's acura legends Nissan turbo z & the list goes on. none did every thing as well as the 09 gt.judging comparable gt's it is still valued at what it was purchased new for.Just a good comfortable car that is fun & reasonably economical to drive.I do fear driving it any place it could be door dinged or scratched. 25 k & still on the original 19" tires with about 50% tread left.No regrets woulddo it all over again.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


The best 4 door rocket you can buy

by Baffa 1 from New Jersey | April 22, 2014

I purchased my 2009 G8 GT as a new car in 2009 and have owned it ever since. The car has done nothing but surprise me every day I drive it. I've been asked numerous times whether I would like to sell it. It's an awesome all around sport sedan which has unique styling and great performance. Driving in sport mode really brings the engine to life. The combined handling, acceleration, and looks make this the best value and performance package offered to this day. The new Chevy SS doesn't even come close to the looks of the G8. Buy a used G8 when you can get your hands on one. You won't be disappointed!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Pontiac ended on a high note with this car

by Life Long Bachelor from Fort Worth, TX | April 1, 2014

I was driving an 04 Mercedes S55 AMG before I purchased my 09 G8 GT. The Mercedes was of course an awesome handling, very comfortable in the city as well as the highway, beautiful car. BUT...Maintance cost had gotten so high, I could have bought 2 small used cars with the money I spent to keep it on the road. I haven't owned a domestic vehicle in like 20 years, and I decided it was time. The first car I thought of was the G8. Once I could get past the difference in interior quality and materials, this car makes me not miss the AMG at all. It is equally responsive on acceleration and comfort. Handling and ride, not so much. The G8 is a bit wallowy compared to the AMG, and I know I am comparing apples to oranges. I have 3 other vehicles, all used, but I've anever gotten into the thought of having one vehicle for all reasons. This is my highway, going out of town vehicle because of it's size and capacity, and ride comfort. Sound system is just OK, as any type of bass I hear the plastics in back vibrating. As the last of the Pontiacs, this car was proving that Pontiac was finnaly on the right track. I wished I had waited to find a well taken care of GXP. It would have been great to have the last of the best of Pontiac. I think I will stay with the quiet exhaust because this is the best way to sneak up on an unsuspecting Camaro, Mustang, Challenger, or Charger. This a great bang for your buck car...

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Awesome!!

by Schmanns88 from Latonia, KY | January 27, 2014

Absolutely love this car!!! Personally I don't care for buying new cars, usually I'm strictly into old cars, but this car I just could not pass up on. Now going from my 1999 Jeep Wrangler was a night and day difference, but I feel going from any other vehicle would've been a huge upgrade. The only thing I don't like about it is that it's too quiet lol definitely will add exhaust. Also, even though it's a no brainer it is not so good in the snow, but I will going with some 17" rims next winter so I'll see how that goes. Just know that's it's an amazing vehicle!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Crazy fast for a four door sedan

by jhwkh8r from Chicago, IL | August 16, 2013

I bought a used 2009 G8 GT a couple of weeks ago. I fell in love the minute I hit the gas pedal. 6.0L is no joke. Combine that power + the look of a European sports car, and you have a win-win. Interior controls are confusing at first, as they are set up in reverse of most US made cars, bc this is GM's Australian muscle car shipped in to give them a rear-wheel drive sedan to compete with a rival Detroit automaker from 2007-2009. This is a good looking car and has an engine to meet anyone's needs. 3.6L for the casual driver, 6.0L(GT model) or 6.2L(GXP, good luck as there were less than 2000 of these monsters produced for 2009) for the enthusiast. Very easy to modify if you want it to feel like a 4-door Corvette. I've owned a Trans-Am WS6, and both the super charged Bonneville SSEI and Grand Prix GTP. The G8 looks, feels, and acts like a step up from all of those high performance Pontiac models. Who wouldn't want a car that looks like a luxury sedan on the way to work, but has the alter ego of a muscle car every time some teenager in a hot-rod 4 cylinder pulls up beside you. Racing 0-60mph in a swift 5.3 seconds does the talking for you. Pontiac truly rode off into the sunset at the top of their game with this beauty.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


My GXP

by JOHN477 from Central Illinois | May 3, 2013

I purchased this car new. The design caught my eye, and the performance sealed the deal. What a car. For the money, one cannot find such a car on the current market today making this an unsurpassed value. If your taste is for a car that functions extremely well as a workhorse, and performs like a sports car, without draining your bank account...get this one. This car is the reason Pontiacs should still be produced today. If the Chinese would have endorsed these instead of the flash-chrome-Buick, these WOULD still be built under the Pontiac nameplate. This car feels like a 4 door Vette, is as roomy as a Caddy, and has trunk space galore for actually traveling by car. They are also sleepers. The unsuspecting Beemer pilot gets very embarrassed, and the cop gets fooled. Your friends and neighbors say oooh, and your banker says aaah. Love it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Great value for the money

by SoloRacer from Michigan | March 21, 2013

I bought the car because with the Class-4 hitch from Holden it is capable of towing my race car to the track without having to own a truck that I rarely use to its full potential. After test driving a few GT's I was very impressed with the amount of base features. After purchasing my 2009 GT I am even more impressed with the level of comfort offered in what I expected to be a middle of the road sport sedan. The seats are VERY comfortable, back pains I used to have from long road trips are a thing of the past. The stereo sounds amazing and has a nice balance of highs mids and lows. Tons of interior space, I'm 6'0" and with my seat adjusted comfortably there was more than enough room for my 6'3" uncle in the back seat. The GT has plenty of passing power, the V8 cruises with ease and has yet to show signs of a struggle even with a car full of adults through hilly terrain. The handling is very neutral, if the tires do slip it is easily recovered. Stability control works very well, keeps the car going straight without being overly sensitive and kicking on too frequently. This is with summer tires in winter as well, I can only imagine how well it works with snow tires. All around the car is a joy to own. It has very attractive styling, spacious and comfortable interior, with many characteristics of a sports car. There is a reason they have been retaining their value so well.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


LOVE MY CAR

by Granny from Co | February 12, 2013

I am 68 year's old. I love this car. Just got offered 22,000 for it. Never going to sell it. I have the GT G8.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


It's a keeper

by G8 Lover from Youngstown, Ohio | July 4, 2012

When the spouce and I we're in the market for a new car we went to a combo GM dealer to buy a new Caddy CTS. But when she saw the G8 in black the looking was over. Overall I was extremely impressed with it. The styling is what is most impressive. Comfortable, handles well, rides better than expected, plus many more positive adjectives to describe it. It does have a few quirks that I don't like. First off, no auto diming rear view mirror, not available. Second, the placement of the power seat controls, very tight fit between the seat and the door panel, third, the side mirrors could be larger. You do have to careful when approaching driveways or pulling up to a curb as the front is actually lower than my Corvette, and I have had some mishaps. That is not a fault of the car, just the driver. I've had this car 3 years now and plan on keeping it . Overall, it's the best.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


4 door Firebird

by Pyro car guy from York, PA | May 24, 2012

This car is amazing! It can fit any size person in the front or back while still scaring little children and the elderly as you race on by. For a 6.0L V8 it gets suprisingly decent gas mileage with the variable valve timing (4cylinder/8cylinder mode). This car is a blast to drive. Pontiac pricing with BMW 5 series performance and style. This car is basically a 4 door Firebird (or Camaro is you prefer since it is still around). This car does not ride like a car that can handle almost 1 full lateral G around a corner, it rides similar to a Cadilac. GM really shot themselves in the foot discontinuing Pontiac and shot themselves in the foot again by not rebadging the G8 and bringing it back in Chevrolet or Buick's clothing. If you want an instant classic that will have your passenger squirming in the seat next to you when you hammer that right pedal while still maintaining decent, normal driving, gas mileage and a comfortable ride then this car is for you.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 54 reviews

Featured Services for this Pontiac G8

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.

Home | Buy or Sell a Truck | News | Special Reports

A member of the Cars.com family. By using this site, you agree to our terms of service | © 2014 Cars.com | Privacy Statement | Contact Us

Visit our partner: MovingTruck.com