2006 Porsche 911

Change Vehicle

2006 Porsche 911

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 9 styles:  2006 Porsche 911 2dr AWD Coupe shown
Print


Asking Price Range
$33,116–$59,100

Estimated MPG

17–18 city / 25–26 hwy


See Photos & Videos


Average Ratings

Overall

4.8 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

24 out of 25 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 25 reviews

Not sure why I waited so long.

by Mr. Pie from Kirkland, WA | February 3, 2014

I recently purchased a 2006 C4S Cab and the only disappointment I have is that I should have purchased it much sooner. Yes, its a little pricey, yes, there is limited storage space, but dollar for dollar when comparing a sports car of this caliber to others in the market, hands down it's best in class.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Carrera S, things to know.

by Porschephile from Reno, Nv | December 18, 2012

First off, let me start by saying, dont be fooled into thinking that by spending more money for a car you are getting the very best built product that money can buy. This is not true, and holds true for Porsche's as well as Ferrari's and Lambo's. you are buying exclusivity and a badge more so than a phenomenally built product. They are sports cars first and foremost, and luxury vehicles dead last. They all squeak and rattle (stiff chassis), they are all loud on the road (light weight and no sound absorbption) and they all have mechanical quirks. They are not as reliable as Toyota's and Honda's, but if you know anything about vehicle design and thermodynamics you understand that purpose built sports cars are amazing feats of engineering. Now onto Porsche 997 Gen 1 Carrera S. As far as a fun factor and chassis dynamics, this car is brilliant. With the PASM system it is the best of both worlds. I highly recommend this car with PASM, it is a system that works brillantly to provide a supple ride when in Normal mode, and a after-market suspension feel when in Sport mode. Its the one thing that impressed me the most when I started driving this car. 911's are loud. Rated the 2nd loudest car behind the Lamborghini. And im not talking engine loud, I'm talking driving around wind noise and tire noise loud. My wifes BMW is like an empty conference room compared to a packed football stadium which is a 911. So dont buy it expecting it to be a refined, quiet, experience. Now to the things that dissapoint me about Porsche. Porsche also adopted Toyota's Lean manufacturing and so money no object went out the window and money saving became the entire focus. For example, all 911's historically were true dry-sump engines. This means they were true racing engines, and they cost more to build because of it. Small airplane motors have to be dry-sump motors so that the engine continues to get oil even when up-side-down, in fact Porsche used to make an aviation motor because their design was inherently good for it. Starting with the 996 of 1999, they started building two different engines, one for the normal 911 which was no longer a true dry sump and another for the more expensive models like the GT3 and Turbo which were true dry sump motors and built like the products of old. Dont be fooled when you read that they have "integrated dry sump" motors. That is not a true dry sump engine and is a fancy way of saying that it has an oil pan. So because of this change in philosophy, Porsche now builds two different levels of motor. What I call the true, money no object motor, and the normal, everyday driver motor. Example: cost of new GT3 motor is $60k, cost of new normal 997 3.8 motor is $20k. Think there is some quality differences there? So if you are interested in buying a 997 gen 1 car, just know, that it should be okay as a 7/10ths sports car, but there are some design flaws in the motor that could creep up if these cars are pushed very very hard. You want to have an oil analysis done for sure! Also have the oil filter cut open and inspected for metal frags. Have the sparks plugs removed and have a bore scope inserted in all the cylinders to check for cylinder wall scoring, mainly happens on the two cylinders on the passenger side, closest to the front of the car ( cyl 5 and 6) Inspect the water pump for weaping or leaks and check that the pulley isn't wobbly. Some other issues is they can be hard to get into first gear when cold, common problem, can live with it. If the car has aftermarket exhaust, can have a stutter if in Sport mode when accelerating hard from low rpms. Another common issue, that you can learn to drive around but is annoying. After market exhaust seems to be the common cause. Now all of that being said... I drive mine daily, have 82k on the odometer and have changed the water pump and have added an additional radiator, and I change the oil more ften than recommended and the car has been great. But I dont drive it hard like I did my Turbo either. If you want to drive the wheels off it, get a GT3 or Turbo.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


If you love to drive, you can not go wrong.

by Carrera 4 from Myrtle Beach, SC | October 1, 2012

If you love to drive you will not go wrong with a Porsche. This is my second one and the difference between my 2002 and the "new" 2006 are dramatic. Mine is all wheel drive and it is just simply the best at cornering and hugging the road. I am now drving my dream car. WOW!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Porsche 911 s

by Hot Rod71 from Sam Jose, ca | July 25, 2012

Hottest car I have ever owned. One word: DEPENDABLE! The thing is built like a tractor. You could plow the farm with them. Obviously, I would never do something like that with a work of art, but if needed, it is capable...

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


masterpiece

by Zeus from | May 1, 2012

Yes i got my 40 year dream car to ..there is faster fancier and more expensive cars out there ..but Porsche will always be the mans machine, reliable amazing handling a masterpiece of engineering....

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


The Best!

by Brent from Dallas, Texas | April 9, 2012

My 2006 Porsche Carrera S had only 24,111 miles on it. It is fast and it is beautiful. It has an automatic (Tiptronic) transmission. Great car!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


2006 Porsche Carrera S Cabriolet

by Tmoney from Washington, DC | March 23, 2012

I bought my dream car last year - it's a 2006 Porsche Carrera S4 Cabriolet. i bought it from a private owner. It was worth the wait after 30 years of dreaming. The car simply performs. The all wheel drive hugs the road at high speeds, the acceleration is awesome and makes for an unbeleivable ride when in the Sport mode. Sometimes I enjoy watching my lady drive it around the driveway just so I can capture looking at it and listening to it. I love the exhaust tone. Get one as soon as you can. You won't regret it!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


now a porshce owner

by 997 enthusiast from SF bay area | January 30, 2012

best high performance car for the price! the car was in primo shape and dorve like a dream ---get one

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Carrera 4 Hot Wheels

by Once again Porsche Owner from San Francisco Bay Area | December 6, 2011

As a previous 911 owner (74 Targa) and regrettably selling in the late '90's, I looked for over six months at late model 911's available on the previous owned market. I came across a posting for a 2006 Carerra 4 with only 9300 miles. The test drive and PPI were without compromise. Since then, the vehicle has been a blast to drive, performs all tasks without hesitation, and I have never second guessed my decision to purchase this used vehicle. My only criticism is the harsh and noisy ride over concrete and rough asphalt. This may be partially due to the tires. If you are considering a used 911 purchase, do your homework on reliability issues, be prepared for high repair costs when they do come up (or purchase a service contract if you don't want to worry), and test drive several vehicles.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Great Car to HAve

by Sports Car adventure from Miami | May 17, 2011

I was looking at several cars, Gallardo , F430 or Porsche 911S. I did not want any TURBO since you cannot really drive them here in the USA because of the Speed Limit. I am very pleased with this purchase as the car offers a great handling and pleasure at the same time. The plus this car has over other sports car is that it is a 4 seater but pretty small for adults in the back. The power is great and brakes are precise. I love the BOSE sound systems in it as well the A/C works great w/o over heating the car and I live in Miami. I advise this car and will consider to buy another one in the future.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 25 reviews

People Who Viewed this Car Also Viewed

Select up to three models to compare with the 2006 Porsche 911.


Featured Services for this Porsche 911

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.

Home | Buy or Sell a Truck | News | Special Reports

A member of the Cars.com family. By using this site, you agree to our terms of service | © 2014 Cars.com | Privacy Statement | Contact Us

Visit our partner: MovingTruck.com