2006 Toyota 4Runner

Change Vehicle

2006 Toyota 4Runner

Available in 12 styles:  2006 Toyota 4Runner 4dr 4x4 shown
Print


Kelley Blue Book Retail
$15,500–$17,600

Est. MPG

16–18 city / 19–22 hwy


See Photos & Videos


Average Ratings

Overall

4.7 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

39 out of 42 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 42 reviews

Tons of kids, Great car

by Soccer Mom from Vancouver, Wa | April 15, 2014

I am a mom who has 11 kids that are all involved in the wonderful sport of soccer. This car transports them to and from soccer practice on a daily basis, other than Sundays. I can cram all 11 of them in this baby (not legally, but still).

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


My shadow

by Busy professional and parent from Phoenix, Az | February 3, 2014

I have owned 3 SUVs in my life. This is my most recent and current vehicle. It is also my first import. Having said that, I will say that this has been the best vehicle I have ever owned. I bought it new - an SR5 4x4 with leather. I now have 120k on it. It has been the best investment! It handles like it is still new, it is responsive and safe. I use my truck for everything. The daily commute, long distance summer trips where it is packed to the gills with luggage and 4x4 drives in the snow and ice. It never gets stuck. Love love love this vehicle. The only repair I have had to do, was at 106k for an exhaust repair. That's it! That is so different than the mechanical nightmare Ford Explorer I had, that was on its 3rd transmission rebuild by 93k!! I plan to keep this car until it doesn't drive anymore and from the looks of things, that won't be any time soon! This is a purchase I have NEVER regretted! :)

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Think twice about this 2006 4Runner

by LisaMarie from Chatham, NY | December 12, 2013

I just purchased a 2006 with 120K from a Toyota dealership with a Carfax. Maintained at dealer. Had the car for less than 24 hours when accelerating between 23-40 the car felt like I was driving over a rumble strip. Took it back to dealer and told me to live with it. I said not acceptable. Too make a long story short they flushed transmission 2 times reset computer and car still has problem. Told me the torque converter and the computer in car are not working properly together and it is what is. Didn't even think putting in new transmission would help. Toyota evidently has a big flaw in this vehicle. For this reason I would not recommend buying.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does not recommend this car


Clean and Reliable

by Silly Billy from Tucson AZ | August 7, 2013

Our Neighbor recommended Too Hot Motors for their inexpensive imports . We enjoyed our buying experience and were happy to support a small family owed dealership.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Best SUV around for the money

by chgo1977 from allentown, pa | June 27, 2013

Bought this SUV used. The whole family loves. It has the sport package and sunroof. Feels solid going down the road. Tight and responsive even for being 7 years old. Only has 66k and plan to keep it for a long time. Looking forward to family vacation to the beach with it. I found the cars.com reviews excellent help!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


2 4Runners in the Family

by Siteguy from Toronto | March 28, 2013

I can not believe I purchased another 4Runner. I did a bit of research beforehand to check out some other brands such as the Chevy Equinox and Ford escape. We needed to get a new car as our Grand Prix was becoming a little un reliable. The consumer reviews research showed a number of issues I just want to stay away from. If one just counts the percentage of satisfied 4runner owners it out measures just about all other SUVs. That is very useful in itself. I have owned a 2006 4Runner Limited V8 since 2010 and all I can say this is one awesome vehicle. The drive feels solid and comfortable with more than ample power. So far the only thing I had to do was to replace a front wheel bearing, (strange part to replace, no reviews on this as far as I know) But other than that it has been a great ride. So, when it came time to replace our 2001 GM I did a little research and found there was no crossover or other Midsize SUV more dependable and tough as the 4Runner. So I bought another 2006 (this time the sport package). We just got it and I like it just as much (fewer bells and whistles) but that's OK, At least I know my wife and kids will stand a better chance in a fender bender, plus it will take on our Toronto winters with no problem. I think this truck will serve us well and I recommend it to anyone looking for a safe dependable SUV

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Good value

by Nature Girl from Los Angeles | September 22, 2012

Overall, I'm satisfied with this vehicle. My two complaints are: 1) It came with leather seats, but I do not find the seats very comfortable; 2) Too much plastic! The interior dashboard trim is not very high quality, and the exterior plastic on the front area of the vehicle is really disappointing. I have the SR5 with a V6 - I have good engine power and good gas mileage, so I'm pretty satisfied!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


The best car I have ever owned!

by Love my 4Runner from Carmel, IN | September 19, 2012

This is my second 4Runner and it is the best car I have ever owned! Also, it may be the best vehicle ever built. I have heard nothing but praises from people who have owned them with well over 130,000 miles. There is never a rattle or squeek and it is the most reliable car ever. I would highly recommend one, and they are fun to drive!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Oldie But Still A Goodie!

by 4Runner 4U from Brownsville, TX | June 21, 2012

I bought my 06 4Runner in Sept of 2010 and have had it for about a year and a half and have had ZERO problems with it. It's built as solid as a tank and it's my daily driver so I can honestly say it's got turn-the-key and go reliability. The only complaint would have to be that you just can't find these on dealer lots as they get snatched up quickly. If you're looking for a very reliable, roomy and stylish mid-size SUV you can't go wrong with a 2006 4Runner.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Bought pre-owned 2006 4Runner

by 3 Time Toyota Owner from Columbus, OH | February 28, 2012

Purchased a 2006 Toyota 4Runner in November of 2010 after it was returned to dealership after a lease. The overall quality was very high and I had wanted an upgrade in reliability, quality and performance from a previously owned Ford Explorer. The engine is lively, especially from stop to 35MPH. Sometimes I have to catch myself to slow down when driving in the city when starting from a stoplight/stopsign. Turning is great, handling is average for an SUV. If you like the styling of the 4Runner, I have had absolutely no problems. Carfax indicated no problems from previous owner either. I had to make minor replacements (headlights, wipers, new tires) etc. for a 5 year old vehicle. All electronics have had no issues, no mechanical issues, no rust. I dont wash the car as much as I should and still no problems. Audio is great, vision is good. I get better gas mileage when I drive conservatively but the 230HP engine drives like a bigger, more powerful one with the Toyota drivetrain and transmission. Its fun for me, safe for my family and so far 100% reliable. Would recommend to anyone who wants a little bigger SUV than the smaller utility vehicles like the Highlander or Escape

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 42 reviews

People Who Viewed this Car Also Viewed

Select up to three models to compare with the 2006 Toyota 4Runner.


Featured Services for this Toyota 4Runner

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.

Home | Buy or Sell a Truck | News | Special Reports

A member of the Cars.com family. By using this site, you agree to our terms of service | © 2014 Cars.com | Privacy Statement | Contact Us

Visit our partner: MovingTruck.com